Earlier this week, Facebook rolled out its new Timeline feature
to all 800 million users on its network. Although the new profile layout offers new and interesting features, some users on Facebook are finding it too complicated and cluttered with the advertisements and news ticker on the right hand side. Annoyed users are dreadfully finding ways
to disable and get rid of the Timeline feature.
Facebook released a Developer application through which you could enable the Timeline
and test it. Users also had an option to downgrade to the old profile by simply deleting the app from the Developer settings page.
Now that the Timeline has been released for all users, Facebook stated
that it will go live automatically after seven days, no matter if you like it or not. Timeline is here to stay, at least for the next few months. Unfortunately, there is no way you can disable it.
A spokesperson for Facebook explains –
Once you click “Get Timeline,” you will have seven days to review everything that appears on your timeline before anyone else can see it.
If you choose, you can publish your timeline right away. If you decide to wait, your timeline will go live automatically after seven days. Your timeline will replace your profile.
Eventually everyone on Facebook will be rolled over to timeline.
You have no choice, but are forced to get used to the new profile layout. When Facebook released its new Facebook News Feed and Live Ticker
, everyone hated it. Users had no choice, but to accept it. Few users also announced that they would delete their Facebook account and switch over to Google Plus
. However, that never happened. I see the same set of users now “liking” the Timeline. Such straightforward statements don’t bother Facebook, since they know that people will eventually get used to it.